Getting your license is a big step toward independence. It means freedom, fun, and responsibility. Texas, like many states, is home to a graduated license program.
Getting a driver's license for the first time is a life changing experience for any teen. Imagine no longer needing a ride to the mall, or waiting to be picked up after school. Once you have your Texas driver's license in hand, those days will be a distant memory.
Approximately 8 percent of all licensed drivers involved in fatal crashes are between 15 and 18 years old, and motor vehicle crashes remain the leading cause of death for this age group. Texas law requires persons under 18 to successfully complete a state-approved course in driver education as part of Phase I of the Graduated Driver Licensing process. Driver Education combined with parental involvement and supervision is the key to keeping new drivers safe on the road.
It sets you up with the knowledge you need to be fully prepared behind the wheel. In fact, if you live anywhere in Texas you can come to our driver ed school. Also, while the course may appear cheaper take this into consideration. Most all online or parent taught programs graduates do not get insurance discounts.
If you have already followed the steps to obtain a Texas learner's permit, here's how to complete the requirements to obtain your Texas provisional driver's license. Without an ITTD certificate of completion, anyone seeking a Texas Driver's License cannot take the driving skill test and you must take the test within 90 days of completing the Impact Texas Teen Drivers course. Before taking the ITTD programmust complete the online driver's education course in addition to the behind-the-wheel training.
However, in order for these spunky future drivers to prepare for the road, the state of Texas requires they abide by the rules of the Graduated Driver License GDL Program. Here is the quick overview of the two stages, ages, and other requirements:. This can usually be completed as a high school course and started at the age of
Your first driver license will be marked "provisional. You face certain driving restrictions during this phase. For the first twelve months after receiving your provisional license you may NOT :.
The Texas Department of Licensing and Registration now requires compulsory drivers education courses for persons under 25 years old. School attendance or a high school diploma is also required to license a student under An individual can no longer wait until age 18 and simply bypass driver education.
One of the more important decisions you and your parents or legal guardian can make is deciding when you should apply for your first driver license. There are many laws specific to teen drivers that you are required to follow when applying for and holding a driver license. These laws do not exist to make the process difficult, but are designed to educate you about the rules of the road and ensure you practice safe driving habits before being allowed to graduate to the next step.